Back To School!

I am not currently graduated yet, but I sure will be!  This past Monday, I went to Columbia High School to enroll as a part-time student. Initially, I was going there to get my GED. Little did I know, they had an available class for me to attend 3 hours a night, 3 nights a week. So by Christmas time this year, I will have an official High School Diploma! I may be a year behind schedule, but at least I finished!

Today I am exactly 17 weeks pregnant and it was my second night of class. I actually worked on a couple assignments before I went to class today to make up for what I didn’t do yesterday. I’m enrolled in only 3 classes temporarily because the school has not received my updated transcript. However, once they do get my transcript, I will only need to complete 2.5 credits in order to be graduated. Even if I have taken a class before, I am totally fine with having to take it over again. I have a passion for learning and would like to take advantage of the opportunity that I have to learn this information now, while I still can. I bring my notebooks, pens and calculator with me so I can take good notes, which will only help me. I can conveniently refer back to my notes during final exams. Additionally, I can use my notes to teach my child the same things I learned in the future, because I plan to home-school him/her. (I still don’t know what I’m having!) I am so motivated to get this diploma it’s not even funny, and I am determined to get it.

I feel so proud of myself for not giving up. I have dreams of being a cosmetologist doing hair and make-up for celebrities, and creating graphic designs for professionals, and writing and drawing. Most girls my age who are pregnant/have kids already, seem to give up on themselves and their lives just because they had/are going to have children.I have taken the position that this is not the end of my life just because I am about to have a kid. In fact, this motivates me even MORE to do the things that I need/want to do for myself and my future. I would love to inspire more women my age to do the same thing, take back control of their life and do whatever it is that they love so that they can be happy and make their children happy.

I’m going to be super busy getting my academics in order. As for my blogging, I am definitely going to make time to share my experiences and my thoughts about everything. I also plan on making a couple video’s so that I can be better acquainted with my “audience”. (:

Laura Pregnant.

16 weeks and 5 days pregnant – Photo taken on Oct. 9, 2012.

Leave A Comment

