My First Vegetable Plant!

Image

Although procrastination seems to get the best of me, I have finally made the time to plant my very first vegetable: garlic! I have been reading about garlic and studying how to grow it, so now that I have started my own garlic plants, my mother and I will expect some delicious alliums by spring of next year. I am so proud of myself for doing this because I have never planted anything in my entire life, so I am very much looking forward to see how they turn out.

Sometime tonight, I’m going to create some kind of agenda for my plants: to see how much they are going to grow, what grows best where, how long it takes to grow, and learn better ways of growing it next time. I’ve planted five cloves in my backyard and four in my front yard (there were only 9 cloves in the bulb), and I’m going to record the progress so that I can make my own notations about how they grow. I learned that 1 clove alone can create an entire bulb that produces up to 20 cloves, therefore are self-sustaining. So in addition to having all natural seasonings for our food, we never have to buy garlic again!
My mom loves that the most because it saves her money! (;

It takes approximately a year, more or less, to successfully grow garlic and you can’t grow it in the same place that you grew it last year, according to the readings of experienced gardeners. You are supposed to “rotate your crops”, which doesn’t make that much sense to me yet, but I am going to look into it.

In the mere future, I’m also going to plant a orange tree and cilantro, because my mother and I use cilantro in almost everything we cook and the oranges will give us free orange juice for the rest of our lives. I love the sound of that! As you can see, I have big plans to be outside growing food. There are many benefits to doing this: it gives me something to do every day (watch, maintain and feed the plants), It is self-sufficient, we don’t have to depend on grocery stores for food because we will grow our own, and if I decide to extend the garden, I can grow enough food to sell to the entire neighborhood! I might be getting a little carried away, I just want to be able to eat good natural food for free, lol. Also, I don’t want to start more than I can care for because I am a beginner and this is not the only project that will be consuming my time. So I want to make sure that I can give as much attention to my plants as I need/can.

I will let everybody know about the progress of my newly planted vegetables and post pictures of the growth.
I’m way to excited about this!

Leave A Comment

