My First FRESH Thanksgiving

Happy Belated Turkey Day! I hope everyone’s belly’s were as satisfied as mine was last night! I would have blogged about my Holiday on the actual Holiday, but this momma-to-be was on her feet ALL day yesterday, standing up cooking and was too tired to even think about blogging; so here I am today!

This year, as well as last, was my turn to cook the Thanksgiving Dinner. (I’m giving momma a break!) The only difference is that instead of using any boxed or canned food, I made everything fresh from scratch. My mom bought Turkey Legs for her boyfriend to Bar-B-Q, but the rest was up to me. I was in charge of making the mashed potatoes, stuffing, cranberry sauce, and my most famous creamed corn. We were supposed to have Brussels sprouts, but unfortunately we forgot to buy them at the supermarket, so we won’t be having any greens with this meal. But it’s okay because even without the green vegetables, the food was exquisite! I made homemade cranberry sauce with real cranberries and fresh orange juice straight from the orange. I made homemade stuffing out of dried french bread with vegetables, (I found and compared recipes online for this). I made the mashed potatoes with real potatoes and real farm cow’s milk. I also made the corn souflè out of everything natural (Recipe at the end of post). My mom and her boyfriend were very pleased with the food I made and complimented the good job that I did.

The bread to make the stuffing

From Left to Right: Cranberry Sauce, Mashed Potatoes, Stuffing Mix, Stuffing, Corn Souflè.

Cranberry SauceMashed PotatoesMaking the StuffingThe StuffingCreamed Corn

I firmly believe that people should find something to be thankful about every day, however most people only seem to recognize the importance of being thankful on this holiday, which is a shame. I have no room to talk because I do not appreciate things as often as I should. I am so very thankful to be alive and healthy, for the shelter over my head, the good food that I eat, and the clothes on my body. I am thankful for the people that are in my life, and the adorable animals! ❤ I am thankful that I have the money to accumulate the things I need, and that I don’t have to depend on anybody for anything. But more than anything, I am thankful to have this precious life growing with and inside me. I can not wait to bring her into the world so I can see the wonderful little person she is going to become. All in all, I have A LOT to be thankful for.

As for my garlic, they are not doing very good at all. Well, let me rephrase that-only a couple are growing fantastically. (I’m practicing looking at the positive aspect of things!) Let me remind you that I have never planted anything, EVER; I am a total beginner, a complete newb. So it is not surprising that more than half of my planted garlic didn’t survive even a month; lol. But I do have to admit, the factors were not the best. The soil was not completely dry, it was more than damp because it gets kind of marshy when it rains. I’m surprised that two of them are doing as well as they are. Two other garlic plants have potential to come back to life, so I’m attempting to do so. I’ve been going outside to visit them every day and talk nice to them. When plants receive positive energy it helps them to feel good and grow, so I’ve been told. Hopefully they will revive themselves, and if not, I can always replant in the spring. I have ideas for some new spots to plant my next garlic anyways. I learned from other farmers that you can not replant garlic in the same spot that you did the planting season before; something about rotating your crops. Since Jimmy (Mom’s boyfriend) cleared the entire back yard, there’s new spots in that area that get real good sun and where the soil is not too damp. I have a good feeling that the garlic will grow a lot better there in the Spring. So I’m excited about becoming a “farmer girl”. (:

I will conclude this Thanksgiving post with my own personal homemade creamed corn recipe. So Happy Holidays everyone, may your days be filled with joy!

Laura’s Homemade Creamed Corn Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 4-6 tbsp flour (depending on how thick you want it to be)
  • 1 tbsp salt
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 6 ears corn
  • 4 tbsp Parmesan cheese
  • 3 cups milk
  • *3 eggs (If making Souflè)


Directions:

  1. Dissolve sugar into boiling pot water (about 6 cups).
  2. Clean your ears of corn
  3. By the time you are done, your water will be boiling. Cook the corn on medium heat for about 10-12 minutes.
  4. Drain corn and put in freezer to cool for about 15 minutes. (So you can handle it without burning yourself)
  5. While corn cools, in medium sauce pan bring 3 tbsp butter and flour together. Cook on medium-high heat until it starts getting clumpy.
  6. Pour 3 cups milk into pan. Add salt and Parmesan cheese (and whisked eggs if making souflè style). Stir consistently and make sure you get all the clumps out. (mash them against the side of the pan with a wooden spoon.)
  7. Continue to stir for about ten minutes until sauce thickens. If it starts bubbling, turn heat down to medium (5). Set aside.
  8. Take corn out of the freezer. Cut off the kernels. They will be stuck together so you will have to use your hands to separate the corn.
  9. Once finished, pour corn into mixture and stir thoroughly. Let sit and cool, covered for 10-15 minutes before serving.
  10. Serves 4-6. Top with Parmesan cheese if desired.

***If you want to make this into corn souflè: preheat oven to 350° F, Add whisked eggs to mixture, pour mixture into shallow baking dish, top with Parmesan cheese, and bake for about 20 minutes or until top is golden brown. In my opinion, the souflè tastes the best.

If you decide to make this, please let me know how it turns out and if you have any questions. Enjoy! (:

2 thoughts on “My First FRESH Thanksgiving

Leave A Comment

