Last Minute Dinner Idea

Surprise Pasta Dish – This was what the title was going to be, but I didn’t want to scare people away from reading further, lol! Anyhow, it’s been a few days since I’ve cooked anything special. However, something came over me last night and I was “all of sudden” inspired to cook. I decided to look into this new recipe app that I downloaded to try and find a dish that looked appetizing to me at that specific moment. I came across a couple different pasta dishes that looked cravingly delicious. But instead of going by one single recipe, I decided to make my own recipe combining a few different recipes mixed with a couple of my own little tweaks. This is the recipe I came up with:

My Homemade Creamy Tomato & Mushroom Pasta Dish

My Homemade Creamy Tomato & Mushroom Pasta Dish

Ingredients:

  • 1 package Linguini
  • 1 large tomato (cut into large chunks)
  • 1 package sliced mushrooms
  • ½ large onion
  • 2-4 cloves peeled garlic
  • ½ cup shredded cheese (whatever you fancy)
  • 2 tbsp. salt
  • 3 cups milk
  • Olive oil (Enough to cover bottom of pan)
  • 1/3 cup water
  • (3) ½ tsp. corn starch

Directions:

  1. Cook Linguini in a large pot of “salted” (1 tbsp.) boiling water (according to package directions).
  2. Chop onion and garlic in a food processor. If you don’t have one you can just cut them into pieces yourself, small or large, whatever is easier or tastes better for you. Pour enough olive oil in a large skillet to cover the bottom. Toss in the chopped onions and garlic and your mushrooms and sauté until turning brown. Once it starts to brown, pour in 1/3 cup of water. Cover checking it every 2-3 minutes.
  3. In a separate medium sauce pan, cook your tomato chunks in the 3 cups of milk, 1 tbsp. salt, and three ½ tsp. of corn starch. Cook over medium-high heat and stir until sauce becomes thick. If it starts to bubble, turn the heat down to medium-low.
  4. When sauce is creamy enough to your liking, pour in your sautéed mushrooms. Stir. Add Linguini and toss until thoroughly mixed. Sprinkle the top with your favorite shredded cheese. I used shredded Gouda cheese for my dish and it tasted marvelous!

I call this dish: Creamy Tomato-Based Mushroom Linguini. That’s the best I could come up with; when I think about a “catchier” name for it, I’ll change it. Regardless of the name, it turned out tasting so delicious that I am officially calling it one of my own “personal” delicacies. It’s really easy to make and was done in less than 30 minutes. My estimated serving size for this particular meal would be anywhere from 3-5 adults.

Leave A Comment

