Blue Animal Print Nail Art

My newest nail art: Blue Animal Print. I had trouble choosing what color I wanted to use and which animal print, so I posted a Facebook status asking for opinions to help me out. Blue cheetah print was the first one suggested, so that’s what I went with. Besides, I’m trying to do something other than pink since my nails have been pink pretty much all month!

IMG_20130226_221251I’ll start with my toes, since I ALWAYS do them first. Here are my glittery cheetah print toes! I am absolutely IN LOVE with them! They are so girly and sparkly and they look so good with my pretty flip flops. I used Nicolé by O.P.I. Respect the World Blue, Ruby Kisses Silver Bling, Sally Hansen’s Bling-tastic, Wet n Wild’s Black Créme, and Sally Hansen’s Clear Base & Top Coat. First I painted my big toe, my middle toe and my pinky toe with 2 coats of the silver polish. The other two toes I painted with the blue by O.P.I so that the blue glitter would show up real good and bright blue. I painted my blue toes entirely with 2 coats of the blue glitter. I then used my medium sized dotting tool to apply some random blue dots all of the tips of my silver toe nails which will be the centers of the cheetah spots, leaving empty space at the bottom of my toenails to paint glitter on them. Once the dots dried, I used my nail art brush and the black polish to paint cheetah prints over the blue dots. Afterwards I painted an arch of blue polish on the bottom empty spaces of my silver toes and then applied 2 coats of the glitter to give them the same effect as my glitter toes. Last I applied an alteration of turquoise and silver rhinestones in the shape of an arch to outline the glitter arch of my toes finishing them off with a clear coat. They turned out so good!

IMG_20130228_181949

For my nails, I used China Glaze Turned Up Turquoise (Neon), Ruby Kisses French White, Wet n Wild’s Black Créme, and my Kiss Pearl Black Nail Art Polish. I started by painting my thumb, middle finger, and pinky white, and my index and ring fingers turquoise. I applied two coats of each and let them dry real good for about 10 minutes. Then I used my Kiss Nail Art pearl black polish to paint zebra stripes on my entire index finger nail and about two-thirds of my ring finger nail, just to make them a little different. I did the zebra stripes first because they were the easier design and also the turquoise polish dried faster than the white one did. After that, I used my double sided dotting tool, one side being the largest and the other side being in between small and medium. I applied small and large dots on just my thumbs and pinky nails leaving my middle fingers completely white because those cheetah prints are going to be just black and white. I then used my a toothpick to draw perfect lines of cheetah print around the blue dots and then adding tinyer dots to give it a more dramatic effect. I did the same cheetah print effect on my middle fingers, they just didn’t have the turquoise centers. Last but not least I applied a clear coat being very careful to just streak over my nails ONE time. I learned the hard way that when you paint designs of white nail polish, if you streak the clear coat over it more than once it drags the other colors across your nails and messes them all up. So I had to do this very quickly and evenly. This is by far my favorite nail art design that I have ever done, and because I’ve been getting so much practice, they turned out nothing shy of PERFECT. I hope my verbal tutorial is easy enough for you to try yourself! I still haven’t fixed my webcam (thanks mom) but as soon as I do, a visual tutorial of my nail art will be available for all to use. (:

One thought on “Blue Animal Print Nail Art

  1. Pingback: Blue Animal Print Nails | Blondes Love Cupcakes

Leave A Comment

