Hubby’s Birthday Card & Beer Cake!

NOTE: His Birthday was on March 18th, same as Natalia’s due date, ironically! & I’m a little a lot late posting about it. But I had other things to blog about, so I’ve been doing them in their date order and spreading my blog posts to one a day so that I give my audience something to look forward to every day. Please bear with me. xo ♥

This year for my hubby’s birthday I decided I wanted to make something special for him instead of the traditional “buying him a present”, which I also did. As I was scanning through Pinterest – as usual – I came across some great gift ideas from gift baskets all the way to beer cakes. I decided to make a beer cake; & I don’t mean to toot my own horn (even though I love doing that sometimes) but the one I made is BA and it tops allllllll the ones I saw on Pinterest! I also handmade his birthday card and wrote a sweet note straight from my heart. ♥

IMG_20130319_124318
His Beautiful Handmade Card ♥
Some of the supplies I used to make the beer cake.
Some of the supplies I used to make the beer cake.
The cake stands that I painted metallic & sparkly green.
The cake stands that I painted metallic & sparkly green.

2013-03-16_13-30-34_344

Cutting one of my two spare cake rounds to form numbers of the year he's turning: "26".
Cutting one of my two spare cake rounds to form numbers of the year he’s turning: “26”.
My favorite part! Adding the glitter (:
My favorite part! Adding the glitter (:
The process of setting up the beer while putting some of his favorite little gifts inside.
The process of setting up the beer while putting some of his favorite little gifts inside.

There were little presents inside that he didn’t even know about, and I wasn’t going to tell him until he started drinking so he would find them himself. But since I’m pregnant, he’s going to wait for me! (:
And because he decided to wait, I could NOT wait any longer to tell him about the little gifts hidden inside, so he found them without drinking, lol! He absolutely LOVED his gift and his card I made him. He told me that this was the best birthday present he ever got and it melted my heart away. ♥ ♥ ♥

Adding the gold glittery ribbon.
Adding the gold glittery ribbon.
Then the green ribbon on top.
Then the green ribbon on top.
A close up of the pipe cleaners that will be used to hold the scratch offs.
A close up of the pipe cleaners that will be used to hold the scratch offs.
Adding the pretty happy Birthday bow. (:
Adding the pretty happy Birthday bow. (:
Another layer of beer and more gifts.
Another layer of beer and more gifts.
Putting it on top.
Putting it on top.
One last layer of beer, no gifts for this layer though! It's coming out so nicely!
One last layer of beer, no gifts for this layer though! It’s coming out so nicely! At this point, the beer was getting so heavy I had to move it off my bed, hence the baking pan underneath.
I used a razor blade to cut off the side of an empty ribbon spool to use for the top part. Then a hole puncher for the holes that will be used to hold the numbers. The pipe cleaner is for the scratch off.
I used a razor blade to cut off the side of an empty ribbon spool to use for the top part. Then a hole puncher for the holes that will be used to hold the numbers. The pipe cleaner is for the scratch off.
Almost finished! I had to put the 1,000,000 candy bar on there! It just matched so well and looked so good for my million dollar man! ;D
Almost finished! I had to put the 1,000,000 candy bar on there! It just matched so well and looked so good for my million dollar man! ;D
Close up of the smaller sized ribbon I added to the sides of the cake stands because they just looked so ugly.
Close up of the smaller sized ribbon I added to the sides of the cake stands because they just looked so ugly.
More gold ribbons and bows!
More gold ribbons and bows!
Close up of the top.
Close up of the top.
The finished project! With the scratch offs attached. (:
The finished project! With the scratch offs attached. (:
BTW: he went STRAIGHT for the scratch offs and the candy bar before anything, ofcourse!
BTW: he went STRAIGHT for the scratch offs and the candy bar before anything, ofcourse!
I love it, HE LOVED IT, & Pinterest will love it also ♥
I love it, HE LOVED IT, & Pinterest will love it also ♥

Just for future reference to anybody who would like to make one of these bad boys, I used a 24 pack of yuengling beer cans, bought my ribbon and cake stands at Walmart, and the cute party bows at the Dollar Tree, as well as the candy. (:

2 thoughts on “Hubby’s Birthday Card & Beer Cake!

Leave A Comment

