College On Hold

timequoteAs much as I was really looking forward to going to college this year, it doesn’t seem like it’s going to follow through unfortunately. There are a few obstacles in the way of me being eligible for financial aid. For one, I refuse to get a loan because I can’t afford to pay back, so I’m not going to sign for an unforgivable debt that I have to worry about paying off for the rest of my life. In order for the government to grant me money, I need to be deemed unable to pay for my own college independently and neither one of my parents can pay for me dependently until the age of 24. They want all kinds of tax information that I can’t get from neither one of my parents, so I have to wait until I don’t “need” them to pay for college.

Graphic-DesignOn the bright side, I’m relieved that I won’t have to wonder how I’m going to manage being a full time mom and full time student because I know that being a student is just like a full time job. It takes the same amount of time and dedication that it takes to have a job, including studying for tests and having homework on a regular basis. Another thing is that in the mean time, I can still be a full time mom and continue my daily hobbies that I enjoy doing so much. I’m even considering getting a part time job to help me continue saving more money as I have been. I firmly believe that everything happens for a reason and I’m choosing not to be so upset about not going to college this year because, obviously it was not meant to happen right now. Just as I graduated a little late, I will be starting college a little late & that’s okay! There’s people out there who wait until they are 30 to go to college. So I don’t feel so bad about it! too-lateThings will happen for me in the right time, but in the mean time I’m just going to enjoy my life day by day and enjoy watching my beautiful daughter grow each day. This will also give me the opportunity to learn a little bit about home schooling since I really want to home school Natalia.

Even though I was anxious and excited to start college, I’m glad I can catch a little longer of a break before I dedicate my mind, effort, and time into a 2-4 year milestone in my life. I will use the free time between now and then to spend time with my daughter, get a job and save money for a beginners homestead as well as continuing my daily activities that keep me sane. (:

2 thoughts on “College On Hold

  1. I went through the same thing except I kept pushing college back saying I would go once my daughter started school and still have not looked into it. I am almost 30 and still do not know what to do with my life, but I will eventually go back to school 🙂 keep your head up your still young.

    • Thank you! I plan to go when Im 24 the latest because that’s the age you have to be to be considered dependent in the state of FL. Weirdest number ever, lol!
      Ditto my mom didn’t go to college until she was 32 but she’s a foreigner from Brazil and is retiring early. (:

Leave A Comment

